Home News Charlotte Osei loses out on Chatham House award

Charlotte Osei loses out on Chatham House award

Charlotte Osei, Chairperson of Ghana's Electoral Commission
Charlotte Osei, Chairperson of Ghana's Electoral Commission

On the 3rd of April 2017, the Chatham House London published on its website the nominees for “2017 Chatham House Prize”, to be awarded by the Royal Institute of International Affairs of the U.K, of which the winner was be announced later in the year, and an award ceremony to take place in the autumn.

To the surprise of many Ghanaians, especially the UK based Ghanaian Advocacy Group, CENAB-UK, the name Charlotte Osei, Chairperson of Ghana’s Electoral Commission (EC) was included in the list of the nominees.

The reason given for her nomination was that, her outfit purportedly ensured a peaceful and transparent electoral process in the 2016 Presidential and Parliamentary Elections, and also for consolidating further, Ghana’s 24 years old democratic journey.

However, the UK-based Ghanaian advocacy group believed that the reasons cited by the Chatham House London to include Mrs. Charlotte Osei, who would receive the 2017 Prestigious Award if she had won amongst other nominees, was flawed.

The group therefore petitioned the Chatham House through an email, giving various appreciable reasons why they thought Charlotte Osei did not merit the award she was nominated as far as the 2016 general election was concerned. This was acknowledged by Chatham House with a promise to look further into the criteria for her nomination.

As a result of the above situation, Mrs. Charlotte Osei was disqualified, and “the 2017 Chatham House Prize” was finally given to President Juan Manuel Santos of Colombia, on 9th November, 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here